Steering Committee

Steering Committee

The Steering Committee acts to promote the decisions of the Environmental Pillar Plenary, and is made up of the representatives elected by all Pillar members.

Elaine McGoff

Elaine is the Natural Environment Officer with An Taisce. Amongst other areas, her work focuses on advocating for the full implementation of environmental law into planning developments.

Caroline Whyte

Caroline is an ecological economist working for Feasta, the Foundation for the Economics of Sustainability. She does research and advocacy on the wellbeing economy and doughnut economics, with a particular interest in improvements to measurements of economic progress, and in the potential role of the financial system in bringing about transformative change.

Colin O’Byrne

Colin is a Project Manager with VOICE of Irish Concern for the Environment. His work encompasses areas such as the deposit return scheme, Zero Waste and the circular economy. 

Oisin Coghlan

Oisin is the Director of Friends of the Earth Ireland and co-founded the Stop Climate Chaos coalition in 2007. He was also one of the co-founders of the Environmental Pillar in 2009.

Tommy Simpson

Tommy is a projects coordinator at Green Foundation Ireland and is also a founder of two other environmental charities: Energy Action and Sonairte, the National Ecology Centre.

Roger Warburton

Roger is a Programme Director at The Rediscovery Centre. His areas of expertise include the circular economy, community developments and sustainable business.

Andrew St Ledger

Andrew is the Public Relations Officer and Education Officer at the Woodland League. He is also an artist, wood sculptor, furniture maker and activist committed to restoring Ireland’s native forests.

Oonagh Duggan

Oonagh heads up Birdwatch Ireland’s advocacy team which focuses on a better future for birds, their habitats and other biodiversity in Ireland. She has 23-years experience working for the environment in Ireland and in California including in the areas of climate change, marine and inland waterways, energy policy, and working with farmers on biodiversity issues.